Adventures in Mothering

 Dear MOPS moms,

Motherhood is an adventure; that’s our theme for this year, and in many ways, it’s universal.  Sleepless nights with a crying baby, mounds of never-ending laundry splattered with rice cereal and spit-up, and navigating the grocery store with an infant and a toddler in tow are some of those “everyday” adventures that can test any mom.  Then there are the unusual adventures like flying cross-country with a teething six-month old or making a frantic late-night trip to the emergency room. Yikes! 

Sometimes the adventures are sweeter and happier, like holding family dance parties in the living room, giggling uncontrollably because your baby has discovered her belly laugh, and snuggling with your little boy during his first camping trip while the crickets chirp through the tent walls. These are the moments ones you wish you could capture and hold forever in your heart.

Motherhood can definitely feel like a roller coaster ride, and like any adventure, it will have its highs and lows. Some of us like roller coasters more than others.  I used to love them as a teenager, but the older I get, the more they make me feel a little sick to my stomach.   I find that I am braver when I don’t try to ride alone.  The same thing is true of motherhood.  It’s a lot more fun, and a lot less scary, when we do it together: sharing our fears, boosting each others’ courage, and just helping each other hang on when the ride gets wild.  The friendships that I have made in MOPS over the last 4 years have helped me to relax and enjoy the ride.  It is my prayer that your presence here will mean the same for you.

 

Welcome to Northview MOPS 2008!

Lauren Lawler

Co-Coordinator

 

Leave a comment